Press Releases

Media Contacts

Name: Usman Abba Arabi

Phone: 09- 462.1408

Name: Samuel Ekeh
Phone: 09- 462.1408

New Commissioners Resume Duty at NERC

Following the successful screening of Commissioners of the Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission and approval of the President and Commander of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, six (6) Commissioners led by Engr. Sanusi Garba as the Vice Chairman on Tuesday February 7, 2017 resumed duty at the Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC) headquarters office. .

The Commissioners were earlier in the day inaugurated by the Minister of Power, Works and Housing, Mr. Babatunde Fashola, SAN, who said that the inauguration of the Commissioners “will provide stability in governance and regulatory actions for the sector” adding that the Ministry will now focus rigorously on its core activity of policy formulation.

At a brief meeting at the Commission’s headquarters, the Vice Chairman who led the team requested for cooperation of the staff so as to achieve the challenging task of regulating the power sector in a manner to strike a balance between expectations of electricity customers and industry operators as well as achieve adequacy and reliability of power supply in the country.

He said, “We are not here to promote any other interest other than that of the power sector. We will try to the best of our knowledge to balance interests of the electricity customers with that of the industry operators.”

Garba commended the staff for their past efforts and commitment at regulating the power sector and sought for cooperation so that “we can collectively achieve the mandate of the Commission.”

Earlier, the immediate past Acting Chairman, Dr. Anthony Akah, mni, gave account of the thirteen months when he was at the helm of affairs at the Commission. He urged the new Commissioners to make enforcement and rights of the electricity customer priority issues so as to maintain the Commission’s integrity as an unbiased umpire.

The new set of Commissioners includes, Engr. Sanusi Garba; Professor Frank Okafor; Mr. Dafe Akpeneye; Mr. Nathan Rogers Shatti; Dr Moses Arigu; and Dr. Musiliu Oseni Olalekan.

Dr. Usman Abba Arabi - Head, Public Affairs Department